History is an integral part of our story at Wyebrook Farm. The farm store is located in a stone barn built in the late 18th Century and parts of the houses on the farm date from the same time period. The land has been continuously farmed for more than 200 years. There are stone walls on the property built by workers from the Isabella Furnace in the 19th Century.
Wyebrooke is a picturesque spot, perhaps the most picturesque spot on the Eastern Brandywine. No reader of Victor Hugo can visit it with involuntarily thinking of the novelist’s curious reflection on the letter Y. “Have you ever noticed,” writes he, in a letter to his wife, on the road to Aix-Les-Bains, “what a picturesque letter Y is with its numberless significations? A tree is a Y; the parting of two roads is a Y; the confluence of two rivers is a Y, an ass’s or ox’s head is a Y; a supplicant raising its hand to heaven is a Y.” Hugo would make the alphabet contain trees, rivers, roads, destiny and God. Most of us will not follow him so far; many of us will even disagree with him in some of his statements relative to certain letters, but the most careless visitor to Wyebrooke cannot fail to observe that the Y’s of this place contribute to its picturesqueness. It has Y’s “pushed into a sensitive excess;” Y’s which do unconsciously affect the spectator. What would it be without the parting of the roads beyond the bridge, without the siding running off to the deserted fulling mill, without the junction of Perkin’s Run with the Brandywine? – Wilmer W. MacElree, Down The Eastern and up The Black Brandywine, 1906